BY ALDS. PEREZ, RAINEY, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, COGGS, LEWIS, SPIKER, STAMPER, DODD

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Chuevang Xiong.

WHEREAS,

CHUEVANG XIONG

passed from this life on May 30, 2022, and funeral services were held on June 24 through June 27, 2022 at Good Hope Center, located on 7323 N. 76th Street, Milwaukee, Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, Chuevang Xiong, a local Hmong community leader and trailblazer for the Hmong American refugee community was a resident of the second district of Milwaukee where he was a shining example and beacon of hope for the Asian American community; and

WHEREAS, To cherish his memory, Chuevang Xiong leaves behind his wife La Her Xiong, sons Ya Xiong, Nuj Sis Loob Xiong, and daughters Yee Xiong, Baujci Xiong, Noogxi Xiong, and Aimee Xiong; and

WHEREAS, Chuevang Xiong risked his life for over 500 adults and children fleeing the Communist Regime to safety in Thailand's refugee camps in 1979 after the Vietnam War, and continuing his work alongside the United States refugee officials, became closely involved with the screening process to provide a bridge to freedom for people arriving from refugee camps and their native countries to the United States; and

WHEREAS, Chuevang Xiong over the course of his life has achieved many accomplishment such as being featured with his family in the May, 1980 issue of National Geographic, serving as the President of Shee Yee Community of Milwaukee, Inc., Director of Refugee Services at International Institute of Wisconsin, and an active member of the Hmong community of Milwaukee; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family and friends of Chuevang Xiong, thanks them for his contributions to the community and mourns with deep sorrow the passing of this fine man; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Chuevang Xiong.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Scott Spiker, Chantia Lewis, Russell W. Stamper, II, and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 21, 2022.