## BY ALDS. PEREZ, BAUMAN, HAMILTON, COGGS, SPIKER, STAMPER, BORKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, DODD

Resolution congratulating St. Anthony Parish on its 150<sup>th</sup> anniversary.

WHEREAS,

## ST. ANTHONY PARISH

Celebrated 150 years of faith, service, history, and education within Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, St. Anthony Parish was established in 1872 by Reverend Lawrence Conrad and Reverend Anton Isidor Decker at the permission of the Most Reverend Archbishop John Martin Henni after realizing the need for a second German parish on the south side of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, November 18, 1872 was the first day of school for 160 children in the new parish, and in 1903 the steeple of the church and the space for the bells were finished and the spire was put on, and Father Decker died in 1910 and succeeded by Father Michael J. Graettinger for what would be considered the parish's golden years, and a new school was dedicated November 7, 1920; and

WHEREAS, Father Charles F. Keyser succeeded Father Graettinger in 1926 and led the parish for 42 years and through the Great Depression, Second World War, Korean War, and Vietnam War which have each made a lasting impact on the parish with memorial plaques located in the narthex of the church building to commemorate all the brave sons of St. Anthony who were called for duty and so bravely gave their lives for our country; and

WHEREAS, St. Anthony is part of the Mitchell Street Historic District and is admired for its magnificent Gothic architecture, ornate altars, and great halls; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates St. Anthony Parish on its 150<sup>th</sup> anniversary, thanks it for its positive historical, spiritual, educational impact and civic service to Milwaukee; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to St Anthony Parish.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Ashanti Hamilton, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark A. Borkowski, Milele A. Coggs, Scott Spiker, Russell W. Stamper, II, and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 21, 2022.