BY THE COMMON COUNCIL

Resolution recognizing Pride Month activities and work supporting the LGBTQ+ community in Milwaukee.

WHEREAS,

PRIDE MONTH

is celebrated each year in the month of June to pay homage to the Stonewall uprising in June 1969, in New York City which helped spark the modern gay rights movement; and

WHEREAS, Pride Month originated from annual celebrations and demonstrations that have occurred throughout the month of June since the 1969 Stonewall Uprising in Manhattan which protested longstanding abuse, discrimination, and government hostility towards the LGTBQ+ community; and

WHEREAS, Milwaukee's participation in Pride Month can be traced back to the city's 1st Pride Week and Pride Fest in 1988 that was followed by the 1st Annual Pride March and Rally of June 17, 1989, which have become community mainstays and continue to provide rich and valued celebrations annually to this day; and

WHEREAS, Pride Month is an essential tradition in Milwaukee that is fulfilled in the community with the help of the Milwaukee LGBT Community Center, Wisconsin LGBT Chamber of Commerce, Milwaukee Pride, Milwaukee Parents, Families, and Friends of Lesbians and Gays (PFLAG), the Equal Rights Commission, Diverse & Resilient, Hmong American Women's Association, lbgt milWALKee, Courage MKE, and the countless other groups and individuals who support and advocate for the LGBTQ+ community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Pride Month as a cherished and valued community staple and looks forward to continued recognition and celebrations; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to LGBTQ+ leaders Chris Walton, Tanya Atkinson, Kevin Flaherty and Reverend Tory Topjian.

Introduced by Common Council members JoCasta Zamarripa, Marina Dimitrijevic, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Chantia Lewis, Ashanti Hamilton, Robert J. Bauman, Michael J. Murphy, Scott Spiker, and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 21, 2022.