BY ALDS. MURPHY, PEREZ, RAINEY, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, COGGS, LEWIS, SPIKER, STAMPER, DODD

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Michael Guerin.

WHEREAS,

MICHAEL GUERIN

on June 1, 2022 passed from this life at the age of 81 and services were held for family and friends at Gesu Catholic Church at 1145 W. Wisconsin Avenue, Milwaukee, on June 24, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Michael Guerin was the eldest of seven children having grown up on Milwaukee's South Side, attended Blessed Sacrament and Marquette High School, and briefly enrolled at U.W. Milwaukee before leaving to be a truck driver for Pepsi, from which he moved on to the Milwaukee Police Department where he was one of fifty officers selected to serve on the original MPD tactical enforcement unit; and

WHEREAS, upon admission to the Wisconsin State Bar in 1974 and acquiring a law degree from Marquette University Law School, Michael transitioned to what would become a distinguished career in practicing law where he partnered with his brothers Frank and Stanley Gimbel to form what is known today as Gimbel Reilly Guerin & Brown L.L.P., became a president of the State Bar of Wisconsin, and was honored as one the "Best Lawyers" for Personal Injury Litigation and Criminal Defense-General Practice; and

WHEREAS, Michael embodied the ethos of the Jesuit maxim he cared so deeply about, and was an avid lover of literature, music, travel, theater, and cultivated a deep loyalty felt by the family and friends he so deeply cherished; and

WHEREAS, Michael was widely respected in the workplace by his peers, and will be remembered by family and friends as a caring and compassionate man with the ability to help others; now, therefore be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family of Michael Guerin and mourns the passing of this fine, upstanding man; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Michael Guerin.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Scott Spiker, Chantia Lewis, Russell W. Stamper, II, and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 21, 2022.