BY ALDS. DODD, COGGS, SPIKER, PEREZ, RAINEY, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, COGGS, LEWIS, STAMPER

Resolution congratulating Dr. Christine Pharr on her term as the 12th president of Mount Mary University.

WHEREAS,

DR. CHRISTINE PHARR

was recognized for her achievements and service as President of Mount Mary University during a special retirement celebration held June 2, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Dr.Christine Pharr is recognized for her contributions to the community with special regards to education for women in her capacity as president, and through leadership roles within local and state higher education communities for which she was recognized by the Biz Times in 2021 as a Notable Woman in Education; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Christine Pharr successfully guided Mount Mary University through her strategic "Living, Learning and Working in a Thriving Community" blueprint, which resulted in the university experiencing a record number of new students in 2021, expanded graduate programs, moving up more than 20 spots to 51st in the best-of rankings of regional universities, and becoming one of only two Hispanic Serving Institutions in Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Christine Pharr's commitment to the success and wellbeing of all Mount Mary University students, staff and faculty, along with her passionate leadership, has helped Mount Mary University and its students become beacons of hope and actors of positive change and growth to the benefit of the Milwaukee community and beyond; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Dr. Christine Pharr on her distinguished term as president of Mount Mary University, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes her continued success and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented Dr. Christine Pharr, an outstanding leader.

Introduced by Common Council members Nikiya Dodd, Milele A. Coggs, Scott Spiker, José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II and Chantia Lewis and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 1, 2022.