## BY ALDS. MURPHY, HAMILTON, BORKOWSKI, JOHNSON, SPIKER, DODD, COGGS, STAMPER, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY

Resolution congratulating Preston D. Cole on his retirement from the Department of Neighborhood Services.

WHEREAS.

## PRESTON D. COLE

retired with pride and satisfaction as Commissioner of the Department of Neighborhood Services on January 4, 2022, after more than 27 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

- WHEREAS, Preston D. Cole held several key positions during his time working for the City of Milwaukee, which include Forestry Operations Supervisor, City Forester, Environmental Services Superintendent, and Commissioner of the Department of Neighborhood Services; and
- WHEREAS, Preston D. Cole has earned recognition and accolades throughout his career from many organizations including Keep Greater Milwaukee Beautiful Lifetime Achievement Award, City of Milwaukee Housing Authority Partnership Award, UW-Stevens Point Wisconsin Conservation Leader of the Year, and Business Journal 40 Under 40 Award; and
- **WHEREAS**, Preston D. Cole was appointed in 2019 by Governor Tony Evers for the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources, in order to direct statewide programs for environmental protection, natural resource management, outdoor recreation and law enforcement; and
- WHEREAS, Preston D. Cole's commitment to serving the citizens of Milwaukee by providing the necessary tools for his teams through workforce development programs is highlighted in his creation and implementation of the Department of Public Works University and Department of Neighborhood Services University; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Preston D. Cole on his retirement from the Department of Neighborhood Services, commends him for his many valuable contributions to the city, and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Preston D. Cole, an outstanding public servant.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Ashanti Hamilton, Mark A. Borkowski, Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Nikiya Dodd, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis and Khalif J. Rainey and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 22, 2022.