BY ALDS. ZAMARRIPA, COGGS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, SPIKER, DODD, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, STAMPER, PEREZ and LEWIS

Resolution congratulating Julián Adam for his service as the first Cónsul appointed to the Mexican Consulate in Milwaukee.

WHEREAS.

CÓNSUL JULIÁN ADEM

was appointed to the Mexican Consulate in May 2016 and began operations there in June 2016; and

WHEREAS, Julián Adem has served as the Head Cónsul of Mexico in Milwaukee for six years providing an invaluable service to the community and has brought distinguished leadership in representing the interests of thousands of Mexican nationals not just in Wisconsin but around the nation; and

WHEREAS, Julián Adem has served as an advocate of international cooperation and partnership and has promoted better communication and understanding between Mexico and Wisconsin, as well as advancing community relations in Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Julián Adem has demonstrated outstanding service to Mexican citizens residing in Wisconsin and has displayed commendable efforts to secure respect for the rights of all Mexican nationals, and his dedication will leave a long-lasting impact on the community; and

WHEREAS, Julián Adem was instrumental in facilitating COVID-19 vaccine distribution by hosting vaccine clinics for Milwaukee community members, with a focus on the Hispanic community, and his efforts further strengthened the relationship with the community and helped the public have better access to vaccines; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee hereby recognizes and congratulates Julián Adem on the incredible work he has done as the Cónsul of the Mexican Consulate of the City of Milwaukee and wishes for him great success in his future endeavors; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Cónsul Julián Adem.

Introduced by Common Council members JoCasta Zamarripa, José G. Pérez, Milele A. Coggs, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Nikiya Dodd, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, and Chantia Lewis and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 22, 2022.