BY ALDS. SPIKER, RAINEY, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, JOHNSON, COGGS, LEWIS, PEREZ, STAMPER, DODD

Resolution recognizing Connie Wilson for her years of service to the Garden District Neighborhood Association.

WHEREAS.

## **CONNIE WILSON**

stepped away on January 3, 2022, after 13 years of service as the chair of the Garden District Neighborhood Association; and

WHEREAS, Connie Wilson appeared before Common Council committees on the designation of the Garden District, and in the interest of her neighbors testified in opposition to "Cash for Gold" stores deemed detrimental to the overall health and quality of life for residents of the Garden District; and

WHEREAS, In her service to the Garden District, Connie Wilson organized and ran farmers markets, community gardens, events for children, Winter Wonderlands, rummage sales, and craft fairs to help brighten the neighborhood; and

**WHEREAS**, Connie Wilson has been a regular attendee at the Milwaukee Police Department District 6 crime prevention meetings where she regularly advocates for a safer community; and

WHEREAS, Connie Wilson received the city's Distinguished Service Award in 1983, was presented the Volunteer of the Year award from the Historic Highway 41 Group, received the 2019 Person of the Year Award from the South Side Business Club of Milwaukee, Inc., and proudly supports Keep Greater Milwaukee Beautiful, Wilson Park Senior Center, and South of the Tracks; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes and congratulates Connie Wilson on her 13 years of distinguished service as the chair of the Garden District Neighborhood Association and wishes her continued health and success in her future endeavors; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Connie Wilson.

Introduced by Common Council members Scott Spiker, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Cavalier Johnson, Milele A. Coggs, Chantia Lewis, José G. Pérez, Russell W. Stamper II, and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 1, 2022.