## BY ALDS. MURPHY, RAINEY, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, ZAMARRIPA, COGGS, LEWIS, SPIKER, PEREZ, STAMPER, DODD

Resolution recognizing and thanking the Steve Cullen Healthy Heart Club Run/Walk for its contributions to the City of Milwaukee.

## WHEREAS,

## THE STEVE CULLEN HEALTHY HEART RUN/WALK

celebrated 25 years of fundraising for life-saving heart disease research at the Medical College of Wisconsin when it was held on February 12, 2022; and

WHEREAS, The Steve Cullen Healthy Heart Club Run/Walk was founded in 1997, in memory of Alderman Steve Cullen, who died suddenly of a heart attack at the age of 40 (1995), and whose passion continues to drive and inspire the event; and

WHEREAS, Starting in 2015, all the proceeds from the run/walk have been funding the Cullen Healthy Heart Scholar Award, given to a scientist at the Medical College of Wisconsin involved with cardiovascular research in order to enhance their battle against the primary killer in the United States - heart disease; and

WHEREAS, With a distance of two miles, the Steve Cullen Healthy Heart Run/Walk not only encourages the community to get active, but also provides participants with resources to not only educate themselves but also to aid in funding critical cardiovascular research; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the organizers of the Steve Cullen Healthy Heart Run/Walk on its 25<sup>th</sup> anniversary, commends and thanks them for contributions to better the overall health and wellbeing of the community, and for their dedication in urging citizens to dedicate themselves to healthy living and healthy lifestyle choices; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Gael Cullen and the organizers of the Steve Cullen Healthy Heart Run/Walk.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, JoCasta Zamarripa, Milele A. Coggs, Scott Spiker, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Russell W. Stamper II and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 1, 2022.