BY ALDS. DIMITRIJEVIC, RAINEY, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, ZAMARRIPA, COGGS, LEWIS, SPIKER, PEREZ, STAMPER, DODD

Resolution congratulation Matthew E. "Matt" Mazur for being named the Bay View Person of the Year for 2021.

WHEREAS,

MATTHEW E. "MATT" MAZUR

was named the Bay View Person of the Year for 2021 by the Inter-Organization Council of Bay View and has been recognized for his years of dedicated service to the area; and

WHEREAS, Matthew E. "Matt" Mazur is a Milwaukee native who grew up in Bay View and took an early interest in the festivities of the Humboldt Park 4th of July celebration, and became the volunteer director of the celebration in 2015 as President of Humboldt Park's 4th of July Association; and

WHEREAS, Over the years, Matt learned to manage every aspect of the event, including the first 'Matt touches' which included passing out ice cream and securing snow fencing around the firework launch site, organizing Division 5 of the parade line up on E. Conway St., and creation of a safety and security committee that he has chaired since day one; and

WHEREAS, Matt has brought many new ideas to Humboldt Park's 4th of July Association over the years, and for his dedication and innovation he was elected Vice President in 2013 and then President in 2015, and he also volunteers with the Bay View Neighborhood Association, Bay View Bash and the Inter-Organization Council of Bay View; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Matthew E. "Matt" Mazur for being named the Bay View Person of the Year for 2021 by the Inter-Organization Council of Bay View, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community for his exemplary service and wishes for him health and success in all future endeavors; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Matthew E. "Matt" Mazur, an outstanding resident, activist and leader.

Introduced by Common Council members Marina Dimitrijevic, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, JoCasta Zamarripa, Milele A. Coggs, Scott Spiker, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Russell W. Stamper, II and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 1, 2022.