BY ALDS. COGGS, RAINEY, JOHNSON, SPIKER, DODD, BORKOWSKI, HAMILTON, STAMPER II, PEREZ, LEWIS

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Marna Winbush who passed from this life on January 22, 2022.

WHEREAS,

MARNA WINBUSH

passed from this life on January 22, 2022 and services were held for family and friends on January 29, 2022; and

WHEREAS, Marna Winbush a native of Memphis, Tennessee was born June 23,1952 and was raised by Ms. Thelma Winbush, the matriarch of the Winbush family, who was a strong Black woman who would set the tone for Marna's eventual life course; and

WHEREAS, Marna Winbush at a young age moved 600 miles to the great city of Milwaukee where she lived, laughed, and loved, and was the life of the party in her younger years while eventually working to raise six children who were all boys; and

WHEREAS, Marna Winbush faced her greatest challenge when her son Deshawn's life ended tragically, but instead of feeling sorry for herself dedicated her life to saving hundreds in her son's name; and

WHEREAS, Marna Winbush went on to co-found Mothers Against Gun Violence, and helped to conduct workshops, stop the violence block parties, founded gardens for peace to beautify inner city neighborhoods, held support group meetings for mothers that lost their children, and did speaking engagements where she gave her testimony that always ended with the mantra, "A mother should never have to bury her child,"; and

WHEREAS, Marna Winbush will be remembered by friends, family and all who met her as a caring and compassionate woman who left this world a better place; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family of Marna Winbush, and mourns the passing of this loving and upstanding woman; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Marna Winbush.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Khalif J. Rainey, Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Nikiya Dodd, Mark A. Borkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez and Chantia Lewis and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 8, 2022.