## BY ALDS. HAMILTON, DODD, MURPHY, BORKOWSKI, COGGS, STAMPER, SPIKER, PÉREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating Bishop Osie Tatum Jr. of Mason Temple Church of God in Christ on the occasion of his 80<sup>th</sup> birthday.

WHEREAS,

## **BISHOP OSIE TATUM JR.**

marked his  $80^{th}$  birthday on January 16, 2022 and a special recognition celebration was held in his honor on that day; and

WHEREAS, Bishop Osie Tatum Jr., the Senior Pastor of Mason Temple Church of God In Christ and District Superintendent of Trinity District, has served as a leader at Mason Temple Church of God In Christ, 6098 N. 35<sup>th</sup> St., and because of his dedicated service and significant contributions to the community over many years, the church and community members wanted to honor him with a special birthday celebration and good tidings from leaders across the city, state, and nation; and

WHEREAS, Over the course of 37 years, Bishop Osie Tatum Jr. has devoted his strong spirit and energy to making a positive difference in the lives of others, by providing food, clothing, housing resources, mental health support, and counseling, among many contributions; and

WHEREAS, During his service with Mason Temple Church of God In Christ, Bishop Osie Tatum Jr. displayed distinguished leadership and fortitude, and he was honored by Acting Mayor Cavalier Johnson who proclaimed January 16, 2022 as 'Bishop Osie Tatum Jr. Distinguished Leader Day' throughout the City of Milwaukee; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Bishop Osie Tatum Jr. on his 80th birthday and extends for him its sincere wishes for continued health, success and happiness; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Bishop Osie Tatum Jr. in recognition of his 80<sup>th</sup> birthday.

Introduced by Common Council members Ashanti Hamilton, Nikiya Dodd, Michael J. Murphy, Mark A. Borkowski, Cavalier Johnson, Scott Spiker, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis and Khalif J. Rainey and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on January 18, 2022.