BY ALDS. COGGS, JOHNSON, HAMILTON, LEWIS, SPIKER, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, RAINEY, DODD, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing Elizabeth Coggs on her 65th birthday.

WHEREAS,

ELIZABETH COGGS

celebrated her 65th birthday with friends and family on December 4, 2021; and

WHEREAS, Elizabeth Coggs has always had a passion for her community and served as an instrumental leader within Milwaukee County who served as the 10th district representative on the Milwaukee County Board of Supervisors from 1988-2010, and represented the 10th district in the Wisconsin State Assembly from 2010 to 2013; and

WHEREAS, Elizabeth Coggs has many talents including her love of cooking that led her to establish her catering service which has fed thousands of Milwaukeeans across the County, and worked as a Girl Scout Leader for 22 years and served as Membership & Volunteer Manager and Urban Outreach Design Curriculum Coordinator for the Southeastern Wisconsin Girl Scouts; and

WHEREAS, Elizabeth Coggs is the Founder & current Board Member of King Advisory, Inc. and founder of the annual King Advisory, Inc., Back to School Festival that provides 5,000 bags filled with school supplies and books that are given away to families to help prepare youth for school; and

WHEREAS, Elizabeth Coggs continues serving the community in her current role as Director of Operations and Juneteenth for Northcott Neighborhood House and organizes the annual Milwaukee Juneteenth parade where residents all over Milwaukee County celebrate the end of chattel slavery in the United States; now, therefor be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Elizabeth Coggs on her 65th birthday and extends for her its sincere wishes for continued health and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to Elizabeth Coggs in recognition of her 65th birthday.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Cavalier Johnson, Ashanti Hamilton, Russell W. Stamper, II, Mark A. Borkowski, Scott Spiker, José G. Pérez, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on December 14, 2021.