BY ALDS. COGGS, JOHNSON, HAMILTON, RAINEY, SPIKER, DODD, BORKOWSKI, STAMPER II, PEREZ, LEWIS

Resolution recognizing Deshea Agee for his contributions as Executive Director of the King Drive Business Improvement District.

WHEREAS,

DESHEA AGEE

was honored for his service and dedication to improving the city and the King Drive area at a special event on Friday, December 10 at On the Bayou, 2053 N. Martin Luther King, Jr. Drive; and

WHEREAS, Deshea Agee was appointed executive director of the King Drive BID in February of 2016 and held that position for five years over which time he helped attract nearly two dozen businesses to the area, including Bronzeville Collective MKE, Gee's Clippers, Pete's Fruit Market and America's Black Holocaust Museum; and

WHEREAS, Deshea Agee has forged partnerships responsible for economic relief to area businesses, catapulted Historic King Drive's boundary expansion, and brought a national spotlight to Historic King Drive's Business Improvement District, and has sought to make Milwaukee's King Drive "The best King Drive in the nation"; and

WHEREAS, Deshea Agee has long worked to better his community, and prior to his time as executive director of the King Drive BID, he worked at the Department of City Development as a project manager for Bronzeville's culture and entertainment district and supported commercial corridor revitalization in the city; and

WHEREAS, Deshea Agee's hard work and dedication has irrefutably left an impactful and solid foundation for which the King Drive Business Improvement District and the city of Milwaukee, as a whole, are very grateful for; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Deshea Agee's contributions and positive impact in the City of Milwaukee, and extends for him its sincere wishes for continued prosperity and happiness; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Deshea Agee, an outstanding citizen.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Cavalier Johnson, Ashanti Hamilton, Khalif J. Rainey, Scott Spiker, Nikiya Dodd, Mark A. Borkowski, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez and Chantia Lewis and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on December 14, 2021.