BY ALDS. JOHNSON, HAMILTON, COGGS, SPIKER, STAMPER, PEREZ, BORKOWSKI, LEWIS, RAINEY, DODD

Resolution congratulating the Milwaukee Metropolitan Community Church on its 50th *anniversary.*

WHEREAS,

THE MILWAUKEE METROPOLITAN COMMUNITY CHURCH

celebrated its 50th anniversary during the annual Night of Cabaret event occurring on November 20, 2021; and

WHEREAS, Founded in 1971 as Prince of Peace Metropolitan Community Church, under the leadership of Reverend Paul W. Sydman, Milwaukee Metropolitan Community Church faithfully began its service to the community as a vibrant, inclusive, and progressive community of faith; and

WHEREAS, Metropolitan Community Churches worldwide was the first faith community in the world to provide a welcoming, safe, secure, and loving space to all God's children regardless of how one identifies, gender, or sexual orientation, and is currently the oldest existing LGBTQ+ organization, not only in the City of Milwaukee, but the State of Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, The ministry's programs include, but are not limited to, the HIV/AIDS Ministry, Transgender Support Ministry, working with LGBTQ+ homeless youth in collaboration with partner organizations, and the Prison Outreach Ministry for those who are incarcerated who identify as LGBTQ; and

WHEREAS, Each Year the church holds its annual anniversary event, "A Night of Cabaret," bringing the community together for a fun-filled evening of entertainment, reflection, and discussion of how to best serve the community moving forward; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the Milwaukee Metropolitan Community Church on its 50th anniversary, and recognize its historical and positive impact on the community and offers its sincere wishes for continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Milwaukee Metropolitan Community Church.

Introduced by Common Council members Cavalier Johnson, Ashanti Hamilton, Milele A. Coggs, Scott Spiker, Russell W. Stamper, II, José G. Pérez, Mark A. Borkowski, Chantia Lewis, Khalif J. Rainey and Nikiya Dodd and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 23, 2021.