

City of Milwaukee

City Hall 200 East Wells Street Milwaukee, Wi 53202

Meeting Agenda JUDICIARY & LEGISLATION COMMITTEE

ALD. ASHANTI HAMILTON, CHAIR

Ald. Terry Witkowski, Vice-Chair

Ald. James Bohl, Jr., Ald. Joe Davis, Sr., and Ald. Robert Donovan

Staff Assistant, Linda Elmer, (414)-286-2232
Fax: (414) 286-3456, E-mail: lelmer@milwaukee.gov
File Specialist: Charlotte Rodriguez, 286-8797, E-mail: crodri@milwaukee.gov

Monday, June 2, 2008 1:30 PM Room 301-B, City Hall

Amended 5/30/08

The Judiciary and Legislation Committee may convene into closed session at 1:30 P.M. on Monday, June 2, 2008 in Room 301-B, City Hall, 200 E. Wells St., Milwaukee, Wisconsin, pursuant to s. 19.85(1)(g), Wis. Stats., for the purpose of conferring with the City Attorney who is rendering advice concerning strategy to be adopted by the City with respect to Item #1...Resolution authorizing settlement in the case entitled Miller v. Jones.

1. <u>080198</u> Resolution authorizing settlement in the case entitled Miller v. Jones.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

1:45 P.M.

2. 080056 Reappointment of Mary Reavey to the position of the Commissioner of Assessments by

the Mayor.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

3. <u>080063</u> Reappointment of Susan Edman to the position of Executive Director of the Election

Commission by the Mayor.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

4. 080067 Reappointment of Paul Vornholt to the position of Legislative Liaison Director by the

Mayor.

<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR

5. 080132 Resolution relative to various legislative bills.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

--- Presentation by Ed Huck, Alliance of Cities, related to Distribution of State Shared Revenue

- --- Update on State Budget Repair Bill
- --- Update the Great Lakes Compact
- ---US HR 3221 (American Housing Rescue and Foreclosure Prevention Act)
- ---US HR 5818 (Neighborhood Stabilization Act)
- 6. Resolution expressing City of Milwaukee support for efforts to discontinue federal corn ethanol mandates, cease incentives for corn ethanol production and end tariffs on imported biofuels.

Sponsors: Ald. Bohl

7. Resolution authorizing the cancellation of Milwaukee Fire Department invoices totaling \$82,331.26 related to bank of hours personnel costs paid to members engaged in Milwaukee Professional Firefighters' Association Local 215, IAFF, AFL-CIO activities while on duty.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

8. <u>080088</u> A resolution authorizing cancellation of the City of Milwaukee's subrogation claim against Deborah Wolfgram for medical services under the Basic Health Plan.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

9. Resolution to cancel real estate taxes levied against certain parcels bearing various key numbers on the 2006 tax roll, plus interest applicable to date of repayment, if appropriate.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

10. Substitute Resolution to settle claim of Cermele & Associates for defense of various police officers.

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

---This file includes payment of legal fees for the following police officers:
David Bublitz, Tara Ferguson, Mark Rothweiler, Anthony Randazzo, Thomas Obregon,
Todd Bohlen, Chris Conway, William Kingston, Patrick Pajot, Alejandro Arce, Jose
Lopez, Alan Grosczcyk, Christopher Chu, Vidal Colon, Danilo Cardenas, Lori Schneider,
Todd Gray, Jeffrey Buckson, Greg Kuspa, Raymond Torres, Corey Harris, David
Martinez,

David Ziebell, Gregory Colker, Maria DeVorse, Christopher Martin, Edmund Fitting, Robert Lacy, Michael Tanem, Patrick Elm, Jon Witkowski, David Grandsard, Scott Adkins, Javier Cornejo, Darcy Trunkle, David Ligas, Mike Wawrzonek

Items below will be heard no earlier than 2:15 P.M.:

11. <u>071663</u> Resolution relating to an appeal from Cleo Theresa Simmons for property damage and loss of property. (1st Aldermanic District)

Sponsors: THE CHAIR

---(\$1,110.00)

12. <u>080163</u> Resolution relating to an appeal from Cindy Macco, Agent for Acuity Insurance Company for property damage.

		Sponsors: THE CHAIR			
		(\$2,127.42)			
13.	080112	Resolution relating to an appeal from Adam Roethig for property damage. (10th Aldermanic District)			
		Sponsors: THE CHAIR			
		(\$4,455.15)			
14.	<u>080106</u>	Resolution relating to an appeal from Charita Ross for property damage. (15th Aldermanic District)			
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR			
		(\$508.00)			
15.	<u>080109</u>	Resolution relating to an appeal from Lillie Mae Gregory for property damage. (15th Aldermanic District)			
		Sponsors: THE CHAIR			
		(\$1,982.76)			
16	000074				
16.	<u>080071</u>	Resolution to the claim of Gary Fowler and Shine Investment, LLC.			
		Sponsors: THE CHAIR			
		(\$6,700.00)			
17.	080045	Resolution relating to the claim of Pamela Hughes for property damage. (15th Aldermanic District)			
		Sponsors: THE CHAIR			
		(\$10,000.00)			
18.	080108	Resolution relating to an appeal from James Geracie for property damage.			
	<u> </u>	Sponsors: THE CHAIR			
		(\$1,368.57)			
		(\$\psi 1,300.51)			
19.	<u>080110</u>	Resolution relating to an appeal from Alberto Januchowski for property damage.			
		<u>Sponsors:</u> THE CHAIR			
		(\$4,500.00)			
20.	<u>080111</u>	Resolution relating to an appeal from Teresa Gueller for property damage.			
		Sponsors: THE CHAIR			
		(\$137.22)			
21.	<u>080138</u>	Resolution relating to an appeal from Denise McCaskill for property damage. (5th Aldermanic District)			

		Sponsors:	THE CHAIR	
		(\$281.97)		
22.	<u>080081</u>	and Joaquin (ating to the claim of Attorney Charles David Schmidt on behalf of Minerva Castillo for personal injuries.(14th Aldermanic District) THE CHAIR	
		(\$57,118.90	"	
23.	080044	Resolution relating to the claim of Atty. Raymond Schrank, on behalf of Andrea Boivin for personal injuries. (8th Aldermanic District)		
		Sponsors:	THE CHAIR	
		(\$50,000)		
24.	080186	Resolution relating to an appeal from Linda Gossen for personal injuries.		
		Sponsors:	THE CHAIR	
		(\$3,850.00)		

This meeting will be webcast live at www.milwaukee.gov/channel25.

Members of the Common Council and its standing committees who are not members of this committee may attend this meeting to participate or to gather information. Notice is given that this meeting may constitute a meeting of the Common Council or any of its standing committees, although they will not take any formal action at this meeting.

Upon reasonable notice, efforts will be made to accommodate the needs of persons with disabilities through sign language interpreters or auxiliary aids. For additional information or to request this service, contact the Council Services Division ADA Coordinator at 286-2998, (FAX)286-3456, (TDD)286-2025 or by writing to the Coordinator at Room 205, City Hall, 200 E. Wells Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202.

Limited parking for persons attending meetings in City Hall is available at reduced rates (5 hour limit) at the Milwaukee Center on the southwest corner of East Kilbourn and North Water Street. Parking tickets must be validated in Room 205, (City Clerk's Office) or the first floor Information Booth in City Hall.

Persons engaged in lobbying as defined in s. 305-43-4 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances are required to register with the City Clerk's Office License Division. Registered lobbyists appearing before a Common Council committee are required to identify themselves as such. More information is available at www.milwaukee.gov/lobby.