BY ALDS. ZAMARRIPA, BURGELIS, TAYLOR, PRATT, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, COGGS, PEREZ, SPIKER, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing Israel Ramón as a 2024 Pride Month Honoree.

WHEREAS,

## **ISRAEL RAMÓN**

was nominated by Alderwoman JoCasta Zamarripa for his lifetime of distinguished achievements to represent the LGBTQ+ community of Milwaukee as a 2024 Pride Month Honoree; and

WHEREAS, Pride Month honorees are exemplary figures in the Milwaukee community who demonstrate outstanding contributions in civic, professional, and humanitarian pursuits; and

WHEREAS, Israel Ramón was appointed Register of Deeds for Milwaukee County by Governor Tony Evers on May 10th, 2019, and was the first Latino Constitutional officer in Wisconsin's history and is currently the only Out officer in Wisconsin, and the second in the State's history; and

WHEREAS, Israel Ramón, throughout his career, has used his background in law to uplift historically underserved communities as demonstrated through his work with the Milwaukee Water Commons, the ACLU of Wisconsin, Citizen Action of Wisconsin, the Working Families Party, Voces de la Frontera, and in his capacity as the former legal advisor to LULAC; and

WHEREAS, Israel Ramón continues to be a pillar within the LGBTQ+ community through his support of organizations such as the Milwaukee LGBT Center, AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin, and pushing for more LGBTQ+ representation in politics through mentorship and advocacy; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Israel Ramón as a 2024 Pride Month Honoree, commends him for his positive contributions to the community, and wishes for him continued success in future pursuits; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Israel Ramón.

Introduced by Common Council members JoCasta Zamarripa, Peter Burgelis, Larresa Taylor, Andrea M. Pratt, Mark Champers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Scott Spiker, and Russell W. Stamper, II, and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 11, 2024