BY ALDS WESTMORELAND, PRATT, SPIKER, STAMPER, CHAMBERS, BAUMAN, COGGS, ZAMARRIPA, TAYLOR, MOORE, PEREZ

Resolution congratulating Steven Walczak on his retirement from the Department of Public Works

WHEREAS,

STEVEN WALCZAK

retired with pride and satisfaction as an Engineering Technician VI with the Department of Public Works on June 20, 2025 after 45 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Steven Walczak was hired by the Department of Public Works in June 1980 as a Seasonal Laborer for Street Maintenance, then achieved full-time status as an Arborist Trainee in Forestry. In May 1982 he embarked on his long tenure in paving design when he became an Engineering Technician I. He achieved promotions to the roles of Engineering Technician II, Engineering Technician IV in Estimating, Engineering Technician V in Field Engineering, and to his current lead role of Engineering Technician VI in 2014; and

WHEREAS, Steven Walczak gained and displayed expertise through his work and performed with confidence and skill during his employment, completely meeting the challenges of his responsibilities for the Department of Public Works and service as a fine example of a dedicated employee; and

WHEREAS, Steven Walczak richly and justly earned the enduring praise, respect, and gratitude of his coworkers, friends, family, and the community at large for his dedication and service to the Department of Public Works and to the City of Milwaukee; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Steven Walczak on his retirement from the Department of Public Works, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Steven Walczak, an outstanding employee.

Introduced by Common Council members Lamont Westmoreland, Russell W. Stamper, II Scott Spiker, Andrea M. Pratt, Mark Chambers, Jr., Robert Bauman, Milele A. Coggs, JoCasta Zamarripa, Sharlen P. Moore, and José G. Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 24, 2025.