BY ALDS. PÉREZ, ZAMARRIPA, PRATT, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, COGGS, TAYLOR, SPIKER, DIMITRIJEVIC, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing Dr. Vicki Martin on her retirement from Milwaukee Area Technical College.

WHEREAS,

## DR. VICKI MARTIN

retired as President of Milwaukee Area Technical College after serving with MATC for 35 years, including 10 years as President; and

WHEREAS, Dr. Vicki Martin is the 10th president of Milwaukee Area Technical College, and has served in higher education for four decades, at MATC for three decades, and has led the college as President since 2014; and

WHEREAS, A Milwaukee native and first-generation college student, Dr. Vicki Martin holds a bachelor's degree in sociology from the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, master's degrees from the University of North Dakota (counseling and guidance) and Cardinal Stritch University (business management), and a doctorate degree in educational leadership and policy analysis from the University of Wisconsin-Madison; and

WHEREAS, Throughout her career, Dr. Vicki Martin has been a steadfast champion of access to affordable education, greater student success and enhancing the talent pipeline from high school through postsecondary education through initiatives including offering the state's first Second Chance Pell program, implementing the nationally-recognized Guided Pathways model, and opening the Student Resource Center and food pantries at all four campuses plus Walker's Square, among many other accomplishments; now, therefor be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Dr. Vicki Martin on her retirement from MATC, commends her for her contributions and accomplishments, and wishes for her a happy, healthy and successful future; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Dr. Vicki Martin.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Andrea M. Pratt, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, Milele A. Coggs, Larresa Taylor, Scott Spiker, Marina Dimitrijevic, and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 11 2024.