BY ALDS. DUDZIK, HAMILTON, BOHL, MURPHY, WITKOWSKI, ZIELINSKI, DONOVAN, COGGS, KOVAC, PEREZ

Resolution congratulating Karen M. Haack on her retirement from the Department of Neighborhood Services

WHEREAS,

KAREN M. HAACK

retired with pride and satisfaction as an administrative assistant with the Department of Neighborhood Services on August 30, 2013 after more than 22 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Karen M. Haack joined city service as a clerk typist in 1991 and steadily worked her way up through the ranks, and she had the distinction of working with three Commissioners through her career in Building Inspection and the Department of Neighborhood Services; and

WHEREAS, During Karen's career, she served the department in many capacities as a microfilm clerk, cashier, billing clerk, license processor and rent-withholding intake clerk; and

WHEREAS, Karen was responsible for organizing many administrative processes of the DNS Commissioner's Office, including the management of temporary occupancies, emergency appeals to the commissioner, processing chronic nuisance reports and billings, resolving informational inquiries to the Commissioner's office, and typing countless letters and memos; and

WHEREAS, Karen repeatedly helped the United Performing Arts Fund campaign and City Employees' Combined Giving campaigns as an annual coordinator and solicitor for DNS; and

WHEREAS, Karen M. Haack gained and displayed expertise through her work, performed with confidence and skill during her employment, ultimately meeting the challenges of her responsibilities as the DNS Commissioner's secretary and served as a fine example of a dedicated employee; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Karen M. Haack on her retirement from the Department of Neighborhood Services, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for her a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably embossed copy of this resolution be presented to Karen M. Haack, an outstanding employee.

Introduced by Common Council members Joe Dudzik, Ashanti Hamilton, Jim Bohl, Michael J. Murphy, Terry L. Witkowski, Tony Zielinski, Robert G. Donovan, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez and Nik Kovac and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 4, 2013.