LRB – RESEARCH AND ANALYSIS SECTION ANALYSIS

JULY 19, 2006 AGENDA PUBLIC WORKS COMMITTEE

File No. 060411 is a resolution removing a deed restriction from a former tax-deed, vacant lot formerly known as 2530 North Pierce Street, in the 3rd Aldermanic District.

Background

- 1. The Common Council declares city-owned properties surplus to municipal need and authorizes sale as a special use pursuant to Section 304-49-2, Milwaukee Code of Ordinances.
- 2. On February 12, 1980, a former city owned tax-deed, vacant lot at 2530 North Pierce Street was conveyed to Charles E. and Marcia Guzowski to be used as green space and assemblage with their adjoining property at 2526 North Pierce Street.

	E. CLARKE	s st.	
			*
ST.		0 0 0.0 0.0 0 0.0 0 0.0	NEY ST.
			N. FRATNEY
	• • • ~ ~ ~ • • • • • • • • • • • • • •		
		and the second second second second	

- 3. The deed of conveyance provides restrictions that the land conveyed and adjoining property:
 - shall be combined into a single parcel to be used as a unit
 - the newly combined parcel shall not be divided without Common Council approval
 - the vacant lot shall be maintained and used as open space with no principal building

Discussion

- 4. In 2005, the Guzowskis sold the combined property to Wilson Holdings, LLC. The new owner wants to build an owner-occupied, single-family home on the vacant portion of the property, but needs the deed restriction released to obtain a building permit.
- 5. The Commissioner of DCD recommends a conditional deed restriction release.
- 6. File 060411 authorizes the Commissioner of DCD to execute legal documents needed to remove the restriction contained in the deed dated February 12, 1980 and, to allow for construction of an owner-occupied, single-family home on said property upon DCD approval of final site and building plans and a presentation to the Riverwest Neighborhood Association.

Fiscal Impact

The fiscal impact is estimated at \$1,500, less sales expenses and the 25% RACM administration fee. Sale proceeds will be credited to the Reserve for Tax Deficit Fund.

Cc: Marianne Walsh Rocky Marcoux Mark Nicolini Joe'Mar Hooper Dan Casanova

Martha Brown

W. Martin Morics Tom Croasdaile Karen Taylor

Prepared by: Emma J. Stamps X8666 LRB - Research and Analysis Section July 17, 2006