BY ALDS. BAUMAN, KOVAC, MURPHY, WITKOWSKI, DUDZIK, DONOVAN, COGGS, HAMILTON, PEREZ, WADE

Resolution congratulating Dean Maytag on his retirement from WISN-TV.

WHEREAS,

DEAN MAYTAG

retired from WISN TV after 36 years and was honored by co-workers, family and friends during a special celebration on May 10, 2014; and

WHEREAS, Dean Maytag served as the Director of Broadcast Operations at WISN TV for 26 years and prior to that he worked at WTMJ-TV for 10 years; and

WHEREAS, Dean has passed along his vast broadcast and production knowledge to staff, colleagues and students over the years, including his service as an instructor at Marquette University's College of Journalism from 1979 to 1988; and

WHEREAS, Dean is an active member of the City of Milwaukee community, serving as chairman of the Milwaukee Media Security and Reliability Council; as a member of the Wisconsin Broadcasters Association; as a member of the Milwaukee Summerfest Public Relations Board, and as a member of the board of Business Improvement District No. 10 (Avenues West); and

WHEREAS, As a member of the Avenues West Business Improvement District No. 10, Dean Maytag served in leadership roles on behalf of the BID Board of Directors for more than 10 years, and has been a true believer in the many assets of the Avenues West neighborhood; and

WHEREAS, Dean is a dedicated family man, both to his wife Stephanie and their daughter Allison, serves as an active citizen of his Germantown community and plans to enjoy his retirement in their summer home in Door County where he will continue his avid outdoorsman activities; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Dean Maytag on his retirement from WISN TV, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community, and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Dean Maytag.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert J. Bauman, Michael J. Murphy, Terry L. Witkowski, Joe Dudzik, Nik Kovac, Robert G. Donovan, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Willie C. Wade and Ashanti Hamilton and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 13, 2014.