BY ALDS. TAYLOR, RAINEY, SPIKER, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, COGGS, MURPHY, ZAMARRIPA, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, PRATT, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing the Pastoral Service of Captain Patricia A. Williams.

WHEREAS,

PATRICIA WILLIAMS

has selflessly dedicated her life to the betterment of others and was recognized for her service on October 29, 2023; and

WHEREAS, Captain Patricia Williams was commissioned as an Officer of The Salvation Army, a worldwide religious and charitable organization with its ministry motivated by the love of God on June 14, 2015, and relocated to Milwaukee, WI and was appointed to The Salvation Army-Milwaukee Citadel Corps, located at 4129 W. Villard Ave., making her the first female African-American Officer at this location; and

WHEREAS, Captain Patricia Williams oversees the following ministries, including, but not limited to: Food Pantry, Men's Ministry, Home League Senior Women's Weekly Bible Study, and Youth/Kids Ministry while serving as a Pastor, and in 2020 was elevated to the rank of Captain at the Milwaukee Citadel Corps; and

WHEREAS, Captain Patricia Williams faced an unforeseen diagnosis of bone cancer, but did not let the diagnosis share her faith or commitment to the community, and she remained faithful to her role as best she could before returning to her assignment at the Milwaukee Citadel Corps where she continues to lead today with zeal, and love for her staff and the community they serve; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Captain Patricia A. Williams for her service to the community, thanks her for her dedication and positive efforts, and recognizes her for her selfless commitment to helping others; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy be presented to Captain Patricia A. Williams, an outstanding citizen and invaluable member of the community.

Introduced by Common Council members Larresa Taylor, Russell W. Stamper, II, Milele A. Coggs, Andrea M. Pratt, Michael J. Murphy, JoCasta Zamarripa, Scott Spiker, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland and José G. Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 31, 2023.