## BY ALDS ZAMARRIPA, PEREZ, DIMITRIJEVIC, PRATT, MURPHY, STAMPER, SPIKER, COGGS, BORKOWSKI, RAINEY, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, TAYLOR

Resolution congratulating Miller Compressing Company/Alter Trading on its 125th anniversary.

## WHEREAS,

## **MILLER COMPRESSING/ALTER TRADING**

was founded in 1903 by eastern European immigrant Kalman Miller, and celebrated its 125<sup>th</sup> anniversary of doing business in Milwaukee during a special celebration held on September 28, 2023; and

WHEREAS, A business rooted in family, Kalman Miller's grandsons, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Robert J. Miller, and his cousins Harold and Phillip Paley, joined the company around 1950, guiding its successful growth and loyal workforce over the next halfcentury; and

WHEREAS, Miller Compressing (now also known as Alter Trading) provides union, family supporting jobs and recycles many kinds of metals that become raw materials for other industrial companies, and the company has lived up to the highest environmental standards while being a long term business partner with the city; and

**WHEREAS,** For 125 years Alter has provided exemplary metals recycling services to the communities it serves, and while its scale and capabilities have expanded considerably over that period of time, its fundamental culture and core values have never changed, as its success is built on a culture of caring for employees and their families; and

**WHEREAS,** A commitment to safety and the environment has distinguished Miller Compressing/Alter Trading as a corporate leader in health and labor concerns; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Miller Compressing Company/Alter Trading on its 125th anniversary, and wishes for the company and its employees continued success, health and happiness; and, be it

*FURTHER RESOLVED*, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Miller Compressing Company/Alter Trading.

Introduced by Common Council members JoCasta Zamarripa, José G. Pérez, Marina Dimitrijevic, Andrea M. Pratt, Milele A. Coggs, Russell W. Stamper, II, Scott Spiker, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, and Larresa Taylor and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 10, 2023.