Resolution congratulating Leonard Jedrzejczak for receiving the 2016 Congressman Clement Zablocki Civic Achievement Award presented by the Wisconsin State Division of the Polish American Congress.

WHEREAS.

## **LEONARD JEDRZEJCZAK**

was awarded the 2016 Congressman Clement Zablocki Civic Achievement Award by the Wisconsin State Division of the Polish American Congress on November 6, 2016 at the 20<sup>th</sup> annual Polish Independence Day/Veterans Day luncheon at the Polish Center of Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, Leonard Jedrzejczak served as a Major in the Polish Army during World War II and took part in the capture of the German-held mountain fortress of Monte Cassino in 1944, an achievement of extraordinary value and selfless victory in the Allied forces' campaign to capture Italy; and

WHEREAS, Leonard Jedrzejczak finished his technical studies in London following his demobilization, and after immigrating to the United States, worked in Milwaukee as an engineer and metallurgist; and

WHEREAS, Leonard Jedrzejczak was one of the founders of the Polonia Sport Club and was actively involved in a number of Polish organizations throughout the years, including Polish Scouts, the weekly Polish radio program and the Wisconsin Polish American Congress; and

WHEREAS, Leonard Jedrzejczak has received many military and civilian honors, including service to Poland and Polonia by the President of Poland and a number of recognitions by American organizations for his patriotism; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Leonard Jedrzejczak on being honored with the Congressman Clement Zablocki Civic Achievement Award from the Wisconsin PAC, recognizes him for his dedication to his Polish heritage and wishes for him continued health and happiness; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Leonard Jedrzejczak.

Introduced by Common Council members Terry L. Witkowski, Tony Zielinski, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez and Mark A. Borkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 11, 2016.