BY ALDS. PEREZ, ZAMARRIPA, DIMITRIJEVIC, BORKOWSKI, STAMPER, WESTMORELAND, PRATT, TAYLOR, SPIKER, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, RAINEY, COGGS

Resolution recognizing Lupe Martinez for his 55 years of service with UMOS

WHEREAS,

LUPE MARTINEZ

has faithfully served UMOS for 55 years with distinction in as a leader in the organization; and

WHEREAS, Lupe Martinez has devoted his almost 55-year professional career to improving the living and working conditions of migrant and seasonal farmworkers and other low-income populations after being a farmworker himself whose family migrated throughout the Midwest; and

WHEREAS, Martinez advocates for farmworkers and other under-served populations at the national, state, and local levels, by leading organizations such as the National Farmworker Alliance, the Wisconsin Farmworkers Coalition, and Employ Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Martinez has received many awards and honors throughout his career including the Association of Farmworker Opportunity Programs' Farmworker Advocate Hall of Fame Award and the Cesar Chavez Community Service Medallion from the United States Hispanic Leadership Institute, and the Wisconsin State Assembly Hometown Hero Award; and

WHEREAS, Throughout his long career, his philosophy is to treat every customer, every client, as if he or she were your aunt or uncle, brother of sister and to serve them with dignity and honesty and to go the extra mile in making a difference in their lives; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Lupe Martinez for his 55 years of service with UMOS, commends him for his outstanding service in the community and nationally, and wishes for him success in all of his future endeavors; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Lupe Martinez.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Marina Dimitrijevic, Mark A. Borkowski, Russell W. Stamper, II, Lamont Westmoreland, Andrea M. Pratt, Larresa Taylor, Scott Spiker, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Khalif J. Rainey and Milele A. Coggs and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 9, 2024.