BY ALDS. DIMITRIJEVIC, COGGS, ZAMARIPPA, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, RAINEY, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ, SPIKER, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing Kelsey Kaufmann as a 2023 Women's History Month Honoree.

WHEREAS,

KELSEY KAUFMANN

was nominated by Alderwoman Marina Dimitrijevic for her lifetime of distinguished achievements to represent the women of Milwaukee as a 2023 Women's History Month Honoree; and

WHEREAS, Women's History Month honorees are exemplary figures in the Milwaukee community who demonstrate outstanding contributions in civic, professional, and humanitarian pursuits; and

WHEREAS, Kelsey Kaufmann purchased the Cactus Club, a performance space located at 2496 S. Washington Ave. in February of 2020, steering the business through the COVID-19 Pandemic while transforming the club from a niche concert venue into an inclusive community space welcoming of all peoples and artistic mediums; and

WHEREAS, Kelsey Kaufmann championed efforts to allocate city funds toward implementing much-needed updates to buildings predating the Americans with Disability Act, making countless Milwaukee locations more accessible to the public, and also worked with Girls Rock Camp and the city to rewrite how the city code defines a "center for performing arts" to allow events for all ages and 18+ audiences; and

WHEREAS, Kelsey Kaufmann, through Cactus Club, has raised tens of thousands of dollars for advocacy groups and with an exceptional team she launched Cactus Plus, a nonprofit arts education organization with the vision of broadening the lens for Cactus programming; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Kelsey Kaufmann as a 2023 Women's History Month Honoree, commends her for her positive contributions to the community, and wishes for her continued success in all her future pursuits; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Kelsey Kaufmann.

Introduced by Common Council members Marina Dimitrijevic, Milele A. Coggs, JoCasta Zamarripa, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Scott Spiker, and Russell W. Stamper, II, and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on March 21, 2023