BY ALDS. COGGS, BROSTOFF, PRATT, CHAMBERS, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, BORKOWSKI, RAINEY, ZAMARRIPA, SPIKER, PEREZ, STAMPER

Resolution congratulating Hephatha Lutheran Church on its 110th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

HEPHATHA LUTHERAN CHURCH

celebrated 110 years of strong faith, dedicated service and uplifting aid to the community with a special service on September 17, 2023 at 1720 W. Locust St.; and

- WHEREAS, Hephatha Lutheran Church, led by Pastor Mary Martha Kannass, was incorporated on November 4, 1913 and was founded to serve the surrounding area and offered valuable education and support to its community; and
- WHEREAS, During its history Hephatha Lutheran Church has sponsored numerous positive and beneficial programs, such as a summer work program for kids, and after-school program for at-risk kids, a dance program for teenage girls, along with support provided to the Casa Maria program; and
- WHEREAS, Hephatha helped create the Coalition on Lead Emergency, or COLE, which provides education about lead poisoning and works to facilitate access to resources, such as lead filtering pitchers, lead safety kits and training for jobs in lead abatement; and
- WHEREAS, Hephatha Lutheran Church has also been organizing worship opportunities for people who are incarcerated and serving as a Strong Baby Sanctuary (to help reduce infant mortality), and for 110 years, the vibrant community within Hephatha has provided outreach and community sustaining resources to the City of Milwaukee, and to the State of Wisconsin; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Hephatha Lutheran Church on its 110th anniversary, thanks it for its historical and positive impact on the community and wishes for it continued success; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Hephatha Lutheran Church.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Jonathan Brostoff, Andrea M. Pratt, Lamont Westmoreland, Scott Spiker, Mark Chambers, Jr., Robert J. Bauman, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, JoCasta Zamarripa, José Pérez and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 19, 2023.