BY ALDS. WITKOWSKI, ZIELINSKI, BOHL, COGGS, BORKOWSKI, PEREZ

Resolution congratulating Ken Skowronski for receiving the 2016 Congressman Clement Zablocki Civic Achievement Award presented by the Wisconsin State Division of the Polish American Congress.

## WHEREAS,

## **KEN SKOWRONSKI**

was awarded the 2016 Congressman Clement Zablocki Civic Achievement Award by the Wisconsin State Division of the Polish American Congress on November 6, 2016 at the 20<sup>th</sup> annual Polish Independence Day/Veterans Day luncheon at the Polish Center of Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, Ken Skowronski, a native of West Allis, is the President of the Polish Heritage Alliance of Wisconsin and has been an active supporter of its work for many years; and

**WHEREAS,** Ken Skowronski served with the 128<sup>th</sup> Air Refueling Wing of the Wisconsin National Guard, has worked in the construction and remodeling industry for 53 years as a general contractor, and served as president of the Milwaukee chapter of the National Association of the Remodeling Industry (NARI); and

**WHEREAS**, Ken Skowronski is very active in the community, serving on many civic boards and service and fraternal societies, including the Polish Heritage Alliance that directs activities at the Polish Center of Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, Ken Skowronski served for more than a decade as Alderman for the City of Franklin, serves as an active volunteer at Polish Fest and has taught hunter safety courses for 19 years, and he previously served as president of the Franklin Lions Club, Deputy Grand Knight of the Knights of Columbus and was elected to serve as a member of the Wisconsin State Assembly in 2013, now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Ken Skowronski on being honored with the Congressman Clement Zablocki Civic Achievement Award from the Wisconsin PAC, recognizes him for his dedication to his Polish heritage and wishes for him continued health and happiness; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Ken Skowronski.

Introduced by Common Council members Terry L. Witkowski, Tony Zielinski, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez and Mark A. Borkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 11, 2016.