BY ALDS. MURPHY, PRATT, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, COGGS, RAINEY, TAYLOR, BORKOWSKI, PÉREZ, SPIKER, STAMPER

Resolution congratulating Gail Hettrick on being appointed the 2024 Irish Rose by the Shamrock Club of Wisconsin.

WHEREAS,

GAIL HETTRICK

has been a member of the Shamrock Club for 10 years, and in recognition of her loyalty and her efforts as a dedicated volunteer, was named the 2024 Irish Rose by the Shamrock Club on Friday, February 23, during a celebration at Alioto's Bar and Restauraunt, 3041 N. Mayfair Rd., Wauwatosa, WI; and

WHEREAS, Gail Hettrick, though a native of Madison, WI, has been attending the Milwaukee St. Patrick's Day Parade and post-parade party for many years and first joined the Shamrock Club due to its active involvement in the Irish-American community; and

WHEREAS, Gail Hettrick, after joining the Shamrock Club, was quickly recruited into volunteering for various club activities, including as a member of the Scholarship Committee and later for the food booth and cultural areas function at the Holiday Folk Fair and for the Shamrock Club membership booth at Irish Fest, and throughout her time volunteering and as a member of the club, has made several lasting and meaningful friendships; and

WHEREAS, Gail Hettrick, having officially retired from nursing, is excited to embark upon her new career as a volunteer, and as the Irish Rose, looks forward to growing in her role, talking with people about the Shamrock Club, and sharing her love of all things Irish with others; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Gail Hettrick on her selection as the 2024 Irish Rose recognizes her many contributions to Milwaukee-Irish community, and wishes for her health and happiness in the future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Gail Hettrick in recognition of this honor.

Introduced by Common Council members Michael J. Murphy, Andrea M. Pratt, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, Milele A. Coggs, Khalif J. Rainey, Larresa Taylor, Mark A. Borkowski, José G. Pérez, Scott Spiker and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on February 27, 2024.