BY ALDS. BAUMAN, MOORE, TAYLOR, DIMITRIJEVIC, PRATT, CHAMBERS, WESTMORELAND, COGGS, ZAMARRIPA, PEREZ, SPIKER, STAMPER

Resolution congratulating the Milwaukee Academy of Science High School varsity basketball team on winning the 2025 WIAA Division 3 State Championship.

WHEREAS,

THE MILWAUKEE ACADEMY OF SCIENCE VARSITY BASKETBALL TEAM

won the 2025 WIAA Division 3 State Championship on March 22, 2025, at the Kohl Center in Madison, Wisconsin; and

WHEREAS, The 2025 Milwaukee Academy of Science varsity basketball team, composed of players dedicated to focus, drive, heart, and teamwork, brought out the best in themselves during the state championship and all throughout their historic season; and

WHEREAS, The Novas won the Division 3 State Championship, defeating the Freedom Irish by a score of 57-54, finally securing victory after three years of deep runs in the State Tournament; and

WHEREAS, The Milwaukee Academy of Science varsity basketball team earned the pride and respect of their peers and the community for their hard work and dedication to their season and for their remarkable displays of sportsmanship, teamwork, and exceptional athletic ability; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith commends the Milwaukee Academy of Science varsity basketball team on winning the 2025 WIAA Division 3 State Championship, congratulates them on an outstanding 2024-25 season, and extends its appreciation on behalf of the citizens of the City of Milwaukee; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Milwaukee Academy of Science varsity basketball team.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert J. Bauman, Sharlen P. Moore, Larresa Taylor, Marina Dimitrijevic, Mark Chambers, Jr., Andrea M. Pratt, Milele A. Coggs, Lamont Westmoreland, José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Scott Spiker, and Russell W. Stamper, II, and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 2, 2025.