BY ALDS. PEREZ, DONOVAN, ZIELINSKI, DUDZIK, WITKOWSKI

Resolution congratulating Jose Lopez, Sr, founder of Lopez Bakery, on its 40th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

JOSE LOPEZ, SR.

celebrated the 40th anniversary of Lopez Bakery's opening in the city of Milwaukee on November 2, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Jose Lopez, Sr. founded Lopez Bakery 40 years ago, and since then it has become a staple of Milwaukee's south side, expanding beyond the initial location on 3rd and Lapham to three other locations throughout Milwaukee, and remains family owned; and

WHEREAS, Jose Lopez, Sr. is a third generation baker, whose great grandfather was a master chef in Mexico, and that skill has been passed down throughout the entire Lopez family, and upon immigrating from Mexico to the U.S., Jose and his wife Amparo brought their finely tuned baking skills to Milwaukee, where Jose began working in local bakeries before saving up the money to purchase his own machinery and open the first Lopez Bakery in 1973; and

WHEREAS, Jose Lopez, Sr. has since worked to expand his business and does so with the help of his family, as his wife Amparo and sons Jorge and Jose Jr. help to run and continually build upon the business, which has evolved from selling only sweet treats to adding a cooking kitchen, booths and tables, and an authentic Mexican menu to their Mitchell St. and Lincoln Ave. bakeries; and

WHEREAS, Jose Lopez, Sr. and Lopez Bakery only serve real hand-formed and handmade food to customers, relying upon traditional recipes and formulas to provide the quality food that has made them a staple of the community for decades, and has provided them with a wide range of customers and a successful business; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Jose Lopez, Sr. on Lopez Bakery's continued success, and extends its sincere wishes for prosperous a future; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Jose Lopez, Sr.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, Robert G. Donovan, Tony Zielinksi, Joe Dudzik and Terry L. Witkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 15, 2013.