LRB - RESEARCH AND ANALYSIS SECTION

PUBLIC SAFETY COMMITTEE ITEM 19, FILE #080635

SEPTEMBER 4, 2008

File #080635 authorizes the application, acceptance and funding of a Juvenile Accountability Block Grant from the Wisconsin Department of Justice – Office of Justice Assistance in the amount of \$65,953 (90%) with a \$7,328 (10%) participant match. Grant funds will serve to operate the School Safety Program, a collaborative effort between the Milwaukee Public Schools Community Learning Centers and the Milwaukee Police Department to provide targeted accountability programming in South Division High School and John Marshall High School and to increase police presence in and around these schools. This continuing grant is for the period July 1, 2008 through June 30, 2009.

BACKGROUND

The original Juvenile Accountability Incentive Block Grant program was created by the United States Congress in 1998 to promote greater accountability in the juvenile justice system. Funding is provided to the states for the improvement of policies, programs and administrative systems that foster the creation of safe communities and reduce the incidence and negative consequences of juvenile crime and delinquency.

DISCUSSION

The grant focus will be youth who have been identified with disruptive behavior from South Division and John Marshall High Schools. The Milwaukee Police Department will pick up truant students and make referrals to the Latino Community Center and the Running Rebels Community Organization, who will then assign a mentor to work with the youth.

The \$65,953 Juvenile Accountability Block Grant is passed through as follows:

- ✓ \$21,985 to the Milwaukee Police Department
- ✓ \$21,984 to the Latino Community Center
- ✓ \$21,984 to the Running Rebels Community Organization

FISCAL IMPACT

In order to cover administration and monitoring costs associated with the grant, the City will contribute a \$2,444 cash match, while the Latino Community Center and the Running Rebels Community Organization will each contribute \$2,442.

cc: Marianne Walsh W. Martin Morics Deputy Inspector Mary Hoerig Barbara Butler Jennifer Meyer Prepared by: Michael Talarczyk Legislative Fiscal Analyst 286-8661 September 3, 2008