BY SPIKER, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, COGGS, PEREZ, BORKOWSKI, CHAMBERS, TAYLOR, STAMPER, PRATT, RAINEY, ZAMARRIPA, WESTMORELAND

Resolution recognizing Saveland Park on the occasion of its 100th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

SAVELAND PARK

was recognized in commemoration of its 100th anniversary; and

WHEREAS, the Saveland Park neighborhood was originally created thanks to the efforts of investor John Saveland, who purchased and developed the land on which Saveland Park currently sits in 1887; and

WHEREAS, the Saveland Park neighborhood was officially incorporated 100 years ago as part of the Town of Lake, and was eventually annexed into the City of Milwaukee where it remains today; and

WHEREAS, Saveland Park currently enjoys a reputation as a historically rich and friendly neighborhood where residents have fostered a close-knit, family-friendly, well-kept and safe community; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith commemorates the 100th anniversary of Saveland Park on the occasion of its annual neighborhood picnic and offers its sincerest congratulations to its residents; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the residents of Saveland Park.

Introduced by Common Council members Scott Spiker, Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Mark A. Borkowski, Mark Chambers, Jr., Larresa Taylor, Russell W. Stamper, II, Andrea M. Pratt, Khalif J. Rainey, JoCasta Zamarripa, and Lamont Westmoreland and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 1, 2023.