BY ALDS. COGGS, PRATT, CHAMBERS, STAMPER, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, TAYLOR, ZAMARRIPA, PÉREZ, SPIKER, MOORE

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Bill Taylor.

WHEREAS,

BILL TAYLOR

passed from this life on May 8, 2024 at the age of 79, and a memorial celebration of life was hosted in his memory on August 3, 2024 for friends and family; and

WHEREAS, Bill Taylor grew up on Chicago's south side, and after he was drafted and worked with the Armed Forces Radio and Television Network, he decided to pursue a career in broadcasting that started in 1970 as a DJ with Milwaukee's WNOV-AM; and

WHEREAS, Bill Taylor joined WTMJ-TV Channel 4 as a reporter in 1972 where he covered a range of local subjects, and also would go on reporting assignments overseas, making him a trusted voice and personality within the community that led him to becoming an anchor of Channel 4's noon news in 1989; and

WHEREAS, Bill Taylor around the time of becoming anchor began a recurring news segment named "Positively Milwaukee" that would focus on upbeat stories throughout the community, and the segment would become a signature piece of programming for Channel 4 and all of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Bill Taylor retired in 2001 on his own terms, and moved with his wife Daphne to Chattanooga, TN where their youngest daughter was starting college, and they would later move to Georgia, and upon his passing Bill Taylor was surrounded by family and friends who will forever cherish his memory; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family members and friends of Bill Taylor and mourns the passing of this fine, upstanding leader and man; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the family of Bill Taylor.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Andrea M. Pratt, Mark Chambers, Jr., Russell W. Stamper, II, Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, JoCasta Zamarripa, Larresa Taylor, Sharlen P. Moore, José G. Pérez and Scott Spiker and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 3, 2024.