BY ALDS PRATT, COGGS, BAUMAN, PEREZ, CHAMBERS, WESTMORLAND, ZAMARRIPA, MOORE, SPIKER, STAMPER

Resolution expressing condolences for the family and friends of Laversie Nettles.

WHEREAS,

LAVERSIE NETTLES

passed from this life on April 9, 2025 at the age of 72, and services were held for family and friends at New Hope Missionary Baptist Church, 2433 West Roosevelt Drive on Thursday, April 17, 2025; and

WHEREAS, Laversie Nettles was born in Panama City, Florida on March 25, 1953 as the third of her mother's seven children, and shortly after she was born her parents relocated to Milwaukee, where from a young age she was a colorful, outspoken, fun-loving child with a wild streak that sometimes got her into trouble; and

WHEREAS, Laversie Nettles was the mother of two children (Cory and Joy) whom she loved dearly, and shared special connections with, serving as their supporter, caregiver and biggest cheerleader in life; and

WHEREAS, Laversie Nettles had many passions and talents, including a deep love for music, cooking, regular family dinners, art, fashion and any excuse for her family to get together, share stories and laugh together; and

WHEREAS, Laversie Nettles leaves behind a large and loving family to cherish her memory and life well-lived, including her son Cory (Michelle) Nettles, daughter Joy Nettles; mother Clestine (Hogans) Nettles; Sisters Marilyn Kyles, Sherry (Benjamin) Lawrence, Rose (Adale) Brown, and Wilda Hogans, and half-sister Mary Ann Nettles, in addition to other family members and many friends; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family members and friends of Laversie Nettles, and mourns the passing of this dedicated community member and upstanding woman; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to the family of Laversie Nettles.

Introduced by Common Council members Andrea M. Pratt, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Robert Bauman, Mark Chambers, Jr., Lamont Westmoreland, JoCasta Zamarripa, Sharlen P. Moore, Scott Spiker and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 22, 2025.