BY ALDS. DUDZIK, WITKOWSKI, BOHL, ZIELINSKI, WADE, MURPHY, DONOVAN, COGGS, KOVAC, PEREZ

Resolution congratulating Jim Scherer on his retirement from the Department of City Development.

WHEREAS,

## JIM SCHERER

retired with pride and satisfaction as the vice president of the Milwaukee Economic Development Corporation in the Department of City Development on April 17, 2014 after more than 43 years of dedicated service to the City of Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Jim Scherer joined the staff of the Department of City Development in 1971 and during his career in city service, Jim Scherer worked in the Redevelopment Authority of the City of Milwaukee, and the Milwaukee Economic Development Corporation; and

WHEREAS, Jim Scherer has negotiated and managed city investment in many of the most significant development projects in Milwaukee during the past three decades, including Stadium Business Park, Florida Yards business park, Century City business park, The Grand Avenue, The Brewery, Direct Supply corporate campus Harley-Davidson Museum, Manpower corporate headquarters, and, most recently, a new office tower for Northwestern Mutual; and

WHEREAS, The projects in which Jim Scherer has represented city interests which account for hundreds of millions of dollars in private investment; and

WHEREAS, Jim Scherer's expertise in Wisconsin's tax increment financing law, his knowledge of the local development community, and the creativity he applies to structuring deals have made him a highly-valued and trusted advisor to Milwaukee elected officials regarding the investment of public finds in private development projects; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Jim Scherer on his retirement from the Department of City Development, commends him for his many valuable contributions to the city, and wishes for him a happy and healthy retirement; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Jim Scherer.

Introduced by Common Council members Joe Dudzik, Terry L. Witkowski, Jim Bohl, Tony Zielinski, Willie C. Wade, Michael J. Murphy, Robert G. Donovan, Milele A. Coggs, Nik Kovac and José G. Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 22, 2014.