BY ALDS. HINES, DAVIS, HAMILTON

Resolution welcoming the 2013 Church of God In Christ, Inc. Bishop's Conference to the City of Milwaukee and congratulating the church on its excellence in leadership and faith.

WHEREAS,

THE CHURCH OF GOD IN CHRIST

held its 2013 Church of God In Christ, Inc. Bishop's Conference in Milwaukee on September 16-19, 2013; and

WHEREAS, The 2013 conference featured 250 bishops participating from the United States and throughout the world, and presiding Bishop Charles E. Blake, Sr. and Chairman of the Board of Bishops John H. Sheard hosted the conference with daily seminars and workshops to enhance the quality of life for church families; and

WHEREAS, The Church Of God In Christ was founded in 1907 by Bishop Charles Harrison Mason, becoming the largest Africa-American Pentecostal Denomination in the United Sates with more than 15,000 churches and nearly eight million members in 60 nations, and is run by three separate governing bodies—the General Assembly, Executive Branch and Judiciary Board; and

WHEREAS, The Church Of God In Christ works to serve the world through their tremendous efforts to aid in disaster relief, community drives reaching out to those struck with economic hardship, scholarship assistance and many other programs that reach out to those in need; and

WHEREAS, The Church Of God In Christ has grown immensely since its humble beginnings, serving millions of individuals through strength in leadership, morality, faith and staying true to its mission 'to seek and save that which is lost;' now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith welcomes the 2013 Church of God In Christ, Inc. Bishop's Conference to the City of Milwaukee, congratulates the church on its excellence in leadership and faith and wishes them happiness and success in all their endeavors; and be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to The Church Of God In Christ.

Introduced by Common Council Members Alderman Willie L. Hines, Jr., Joe Davis Sr., Ashanti Hamilton and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 4, 2013.