BY ALDS. SPIKER, PEREZ, ZAMARRIPA, COGGS, DIMITRIJEVIC, STAMPER, PRATT, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, TAYLOR,

Resolution congratulating Chris Wiken on being named Restaurateur of the Year by the Wisconsin Restaurant Association.

WHEREAS.

## **CHRIS WIKEN**

was named 2024 Restaurateur of the Year by the Wisconsin Restaurant Association; and

- WHEREAS, Chris Wiken grew up in a restaurant owning and operating family, as his parents Keith and Margaret founded The Packing House supper club on Layton Ave. across from Mitchell International Airport in 1974; and
- WHEREAS, Chris Wiken who on occasion took time away from The Packing House to pursue other endeavors, including his work as an airline pilot has served as full-time general manager of the restaurant since 2014; and
- **WHEREAS**, Now in its 50<sup>th</sup> year, the Packing House has cemented its place as a family-owned supper club where patrons flock for delicious steak and fish, many thousands of Friday Fish Fry meals during Lent, prime rib and scrumptious burgers, great cocktails, live jazz, and much more; and
- WHEREAS, The Restaurateur of the Year is the highest honor awarded by the Wisconsin Restaurant Association and is selected by the winner's peers, making it a special award that recognizes success, service to the restaurant industry, and community involvement; and
- WHEREAS, Chris Wiken has been active at the local, state and national levels, including service as a past Chair of the WRA, and as a current Board member at the National Restaurant Association; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Chris Wiken on being named 2024 Restaurateur of the Year by the Wisconsin Restaurant Association, and wishes him and The Packing House continued prosperity and success; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Chris Wiken.

Introduced by Common Council members Scott Spiker, JoCasta Zamarripa, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Russell W. Stamper, II, Andrea M. Pratt, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland and Larresa Taylor and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on May 21, 2024.