BY ALDS. PEREZ, ZAMARRIPA, COGGS, RAINEY, WESTMORELAND, BROSTOFF, PRATT, CHAMBERS, BAUMAN, BORKOWSKI, SPIKER, STAMPER

Resolution congratulating Vanessa Vasquez, Alexander Ayala, and family on being named Family of the Year at the UMOS Hispanic Awards Banquet.

WHEREAS,

## VANESSA VASQUEZ, ALEXANDER AYALA, AND FAMILY

were named Family of the Year at the UMOS Hispanic Awards Banquet on Friday, October 20 at the Pfister Hotel; and

**WHEREAS**, The UMOS Hispanic Awards Banquet is UMOS' premier event of the year and one of the premier events in Milwaukee that honors individuals that uphold the traditions, outstanding leadership qualities, and contributions to the community on which the awards banquet has been built; and

WHEREAS, Vanessa Vasquez is a dynamic woman, mother, sister, wife and professional who serves as Program Director for the Burke Scholarship Programs at Mount Mary University, as well as the boards of the Young Nonprofit Professionals Network, the League of United Latin American Citizens, the Wisconsin Hispanic Scholarship Foundation, and Mexican Fiesta, where she regularly works to better Milwaukee's Hispanic community; and

WHEREAS, Alexander Ayala is a man of action who works to see a change in youth employment opportunities and diversity in law enforcement through his role with the Milwaukee Police Department and positions on various boards and commissions: and

WHEREAS, Alex and Vanessa are the parents of 16-year-old Sophia and 2-year-old Jacobo, and involve their children in everything that they do, including community volunteering efforts; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Vanessa Vasquez, Alexander Ayala, and family, extends its appreciation on behalf of the community for their exemplary service, and celebrates their commitment to the community; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED**, That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to Vanessa Vasquez, Alexander Ayala, and family.

Introduced by Common Council members José G. Pérez, JoCasta Zamarripa, Lamont Westmoreland, Jonathan Brostoff, Andrea Pratt, Scott Spiker, Mark Chambers, Jr., Robert J. Bauman, Mark A. Borkowski, Milele A. Coggs Khalif J. Rainey, and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on October 31, 2023.