BY ALDS. COGGS, BROSTOFF, TAYLOR, PRATT, CHAMBERS, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, ZAMARRIPA, PEREZ, SPIKER, STAMPER, MOORE

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Adriane Griffin.

WHEREAS,

ADRIANE GRIFFIN

passed from this life on August 1, 2024 at the age of 68, and services were held for family and friends on August 17, 2024 at Canaan Baptist Church, 2975 N. 11th St.; and

WHEREAS, Adriane Griffin, known by her family and close friends as "Reenie", was the second oldest child and identical twin born to the late Bessie Lee Coleman on November 9, 1955 in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, and having been brought up in church by her loving grandparents, Adriane united with the body of Christ at an early age and served the church in various capacities; and

WHEREAS, Adriane Griffin graduated from North Division High School in 1974, and in 1986, she obtained her dream job, working for Northcott Neighborhood House, Inc., where she devoted 32 years of employment that included coordinating the Juneteenth Day Street Festival and Garfield Arts Festival, and she would volunteer at African World Festival for many years as well; and

WHEREAS, Adriane Griffin united in holy matrimony with Terry Allen Griffin on September 11, 1993, and the couple enjoyed dining out, attending joyous gatherings and embracing their blended family, and Adriane would come to be well known as someone who was intelligent, very resourceful, outgoing and sweet to everyone she encountered, and she embraced her calling and extended herself above and beyond assisting people with whatever they needed help with; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family and friends of Adriane Griffin, who will be remembered fondly for her hard work, dedication, and love of her family, friends, and community; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to the family of Adriane Griffin.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, Jonathan Brostoff, Larresa Taylor, Andrea M. Pratt, Mark Chambers, Jr., Robert Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, JoCasta Zamarripa, José G. Pérez, Scott Spiker, Sharlen P. Moore, and Russell W. Stamper, II, and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 3, 2024.