

City of Milwaukee

Meeting Minutes

MILWAUKEE ARTS BOARD

ALD. MILELE COGGS, CHAIR Polly Morris, Interim Vice-Chair Phoenix Brown, William DeLind, David Flores, Donald Fraker, Marcela Garcia, April Heding, Tina Klose, Sandra McSweeney, Tim Murphy, Amy O'Neill, Chad Orr, Ariel Pate, Kantara Souffrant, and Oscar Tovar Staff Assistant, Joanna Urtiz, 414-286-2366 Fax: 414-286-3456, jpolan@milwaukee.gov Legislative Liaison: Chris Hillard, 414-286-2170, christopher.hillard@milwaukee.gov Staff to Arts Board: Sally Svetic, ssveti@milwaukee.gov

Calling Number: +1 (408) 650-3123

- -

Access Code: 764-580-757

VIRTUAL

1. Call to Order at 4:05 pm

2. Roll Call

- Present 12 McSweeney, Morris, Fraker, Murphy, Coggs, Klose, Tovar, Garcia, Heding, Brown, Orr and O'Neill
- Absent 1 DeLind
- Excused 2 Souffrant and Pate

3. Review and Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes (2/11 & 3/11)

Motion by member Flores, seconded by member Murphy to approve the minutes. There were no objections.

4. Public Art Subcommittee Report

The PAIR project update - the evaluator continues his evaluation process. He will be coming to a future meeting until he is further along. Subcommittee considered an application for the Conservation Fund, which was determined not to move forward at this time.

The Conservation Fund Form is undergoing some updates. Staff will circulate the updated form to all members prior to the next board meeting at which point, board will make recommendation to approve those changes, said vice Chair, Morris.

5. New Business

Arts Board sought nominees whose work aligns with the Milwaukee Code of Ordinance,

which states that the Arts Board shall promote the development. Support, and enjoyment of the arts in the city, promote cultural diversity in the artistic life of the city, and promote the formation and growth of artistic projects or programs that are administered by and responsive to the needs of the city's that have been historically underrepresented or under served based on race, ethnicity, age, religion, disability, sexual orientation, gender, gender identity, socioeconomic status, geography, or citizenship status.

The following nominees were only nominated for Artist of the Year -Aaron Boyd Amal Azzam Anthony Brewer Brad Anthony Bernard Catey Ott Thompson DeMar Walker Heidi Parkes Jenny Jo Wennlund Kendall Lutchman Paula Lovo Ryan Laessig Terrell Morgan

The following 4 nominees were nominated for both Artist of the Year and Friend of the Arts -John Kowalczyk Michelle LoRicco Neto Atkinson Yessica Jimenez

The following were nominated only for Friend of the Arts -Karl Kopp Leslie Fedorchuk Milwaukee Makers Market Nakeysha Roberts Washington Stacey Pagac Symphony Swan-Zawadi

Winners of the 2025 MAB Mildred L. Harpole Artist of the Year are: Aaron Boyd and Amal Azzam

Winners of Friend of the Arts -Symphony Swan-Zawadi and Nakeysha Roberts Washington

Member Fraker, seconded by member Orr moved to approve these winners. There were no objections.

There will be press release announcing the winners. Members will also receive this press release once published. The award will be presented at the annual award celebration in the City Hall Rotunda on June 10th.

Ms. Svetic presented the nominees to the Artists of the Year nominations; few artists were nominated for both categories:

6. Old Business

Received 62 applications for the 2025 Sustaining Grant; review panel is working through their scoring of those to be discussed at the April 25th review panel session and those recommendations and final scores will be presented to MAB at the May 13th meeting.

7. Announcements

Meeting adjourned at 4:57 pm Joanna Urtiz Staff Assistant

In the event that Common Council members who are not members of this committee attend this meeting, this meeting may also simultaneously constitute a meeting of the Common Council or any of the following committees: Community and Economic Development, Finance and Personnel, Judiciary and Legislation, Licenses, Public Safety and Health, Public Works, Zoning, Neighborhoods & Development, and/or Steering and Rules. Whether a simultaneous meeting is occurring depends on whether the presence of one or more of the Common Council member results in a quorum of the Common Council or any of the above committees, and, if there is a quorum of another committee, whether any agenda items listed above involve matters within that committee's realm of authority. In the event that a simultaneous meeting is occurring, no action other than information gathering will be taken at the simultaneous meeting.

Upon reasonable notice, efforts will be made to accommodate the needs of persons with disabilities through sign language interpreters or auxiliary aids. For additional information or to request this service, contact the City Clerk's Office ADA Coordinator at 286-2998, (FAX)286-3456, (TDD)286-2025 or by writing to the Coordinator at Room 205, City Hall, 200 E. Wells Street, Milwaukee, WI 53202.

City Hall and the Zeidler Municipal Building are accessible by "The Hop" City Hall Stations, the MCTS Green Line, Connect 1, 14, 15, 18, 19, 30, 33, and 57 bus routes. Visit https://www.ridemcts.com/ for more information.

Bike racks are available on Water Street, Market Street, and Broadway, and a Bublr Bike Share station is located on the northeast corner of Kilbourn Avenue and Water Street.

Limited parking for persons attending meetings during normal business hours is available at reduced rates (5 hour limit) at the Milwaukee Center on the southwest corner of Kilbourn Avenue and Water Street. You must present a copy of the meeting notice to the parking cashier.

Persons engaged in lobbying as defined in s. 305-43-4 of the Milwaukee Code of Ordinances are required to register with the City Clerk's Office License Division. Registered lobbyists appearing before a Common Council committee are required to identify themselves as such. More information is available at http://city.milwaukee.gov/Lobbying.