BY ALDS. DONOVAN, MURPHY, BOHL, DUDZIK, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ

Resolution congratulating Julie Smith as Shamrock Club's Irish Fest Volunteer of 2013.

## WHEREAS,

## JULIE SMITH

has made significant contributions to the Irish community in Milwaukee and has unselfishly devoted her time to the Shamrock Club, and for her dedicated service she was selected as Irish Fest Volunteer of the Year for the Shamrock Club's 47th annual St. Patrick's Day Parade on Saturday, March 9, 2013; and

WHEREAS, Julie Smith is well known to people in the community for her deep commitment to the values, history, heritage and traditions of the Irish through her years of contributions and participation as a member and volunteer of the Shamrock Club; and

WHEREAS, As a dedicated volunteer, Julie Smith's involvement with the Shamrock Club began in 1981 when she volunteered at the first festival selling tickets at the main gate, and her involvement continued as she served as festival spotter, transportation area volunteer and on the first Irish Fest Board of Directors for 11 years; and

WHEREAS, For the Shamrock Club, Julie Smith has served as Club President, on the bylaws committee, as Folk Fair volunteer and on the fundraising committee, and now serves as the area supervisor of services for Irish Fest as well as the transportation coordinator; and

WHEREAS, While off-duty, Julie Smith has served as a member of her parish council, a scout leader, a board member of the Southside Organizing Committee, on the Trinity Booster Club, is a Trustee for the Wisconsin Emerald Society and is a founder and current Vice President of the Milwaukee Feis Society; now, therefore, be it

**RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Julie Smith on being selected as the Shamrock Club's Irish Fest Volunteer of 2013, recognizes her many contributions to the Irish community in Milwaukee, and wishes for her continued health and happiness; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Gail M. McAleese in recognition of this honor.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert G. Donovan, Michael J. Murphy, Jim Bohl, Joe Dudzik and Terry L. Witkowski and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on July 23, 2013.