BY ALDS. ZAMARRIPA, PEREZ, DIMITRIJEVIC, COGGS, SPIKER, RAINEY, PRATT, TAYLOR, BORKOWSKI, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing the 50th edition of the Mexican Fiesta celebrations in Milwaukee. **WHEREAS**,

MEXICAN FIESTA

celebrated its 50th edition at the Summerfest Grounds on August 25, 2023 with music, dance, food, and fun; and

WHEREAS, Mexican Fiesta began in 1973 as a celebration of Mexican Independence Day and has since grown into one of Milwaukee's most popular ethnic festivals that highlights and appreciates Mexico's rich history, art, music and food; and

WHEREAS, Mexican Fiesta attracts thousands of guests each year with the help of a dedicated staff and volunteers who put on a festival that displays Mexican and Mexican-American culture through its Fiesta Car Show, Mariachi bands, local music groups, tequila tasting, Mexican cuisine, soccer tournament, and many other features; and

WHEREAS, Today Mexican Fiesta is a family-oriented festival and the largest (paid entrance) Mexican festival in Wisconsin, a showcase of Mexican heritage and the year-round work of the Wisconsin Hispanic Scholarship Foundation, Inc., the festival's sponsor, to unify the community in a gigantic effort to award scholarships for young Hispanic men and women who are able to take their rightful place in society by continuing with their education; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith recognizes Wisconsin Hispanic Scholarship Foundation for its commitment to the community via its 50th Annual Mexican Fiesta in the City of Milwaukee and wishes the organization continued success in fulfilling its mission; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Wisconsin Hispanic Scholarship Foundation.

Introduced by Common Council members JoCasta Zamarripa, José G. Pérez, Marina Dimitrijevic, Milele A. Coggs, Scott Spiker, Khalif J. Rainey, Andrea M. Pratt, Larresa Taylor, Mark A. Borkowski, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Michael J. Murphy, Lamont Westmoreland and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 1, 2023.