BY ALDS. PUENTE, HAMILTON, WADE, MURPHY, HINES, BOHL, COGGS, KOVAC

Resolution congratulating Growing Power on its 20th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

GROWING POWER

celebrated its 20th year of service in the city of Milwaukee with a celebratory gathering on Saturday, December 7, 2013, at 5500 W. Silver Spring Drive and

WHEREAS, In 1993, Will Allen, a farmer with available land, developed a partnership with local teens who needed a place to work and together they created a simple organization to change the landscape of the north side of Milwaukee that has since blossomed into a national and global commitment to sustainable food systems; and

WHEREAS, Growing Power's vision is to inspire communities to build sustainable food systems that are equitable and ecologically sound, creating a just world, one food-secure community at a time and is driven by Allen's own goal to make sure "everybody in the world has access to the same healthy, safe, affordable food,"; and

WHEREAS, Since its inception, Growing Power has served as a "living museum" or "idea factory" for the young, the elderly, farmers, producers and other professionals ranging from USDA personnel to urban planners; and

WHEREAS, In August of 2012 Growing Power announced a community food project that was developed in collaboration with the Martin Luther King Economic Development Corporation -- the grand opening of their Deli and Food Market located at 2737 N. Martin Luther King Jr. Dr. in Milwaukee, which has seen much success since its development; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates Growing Power on its 20th anniversary, recognizes the organization for its continuing positive impact and contributions to the City of Milwaukee, and extends its sincere wishes for continued success; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to Will Allen, the founder of Growing Power.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert W. Puente, Ashanti Hamilton, Willie C. Wade, Michael J. Murphy, Willie L. Hines, Jr., Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs and Nik Kovac and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on November 26, 2013.