BY ALDS. COGGS, ZAMARRIPA, BURGELIS, TAYLOR, DIMITRIJEVIC, MOORE, PRATT, CHAMBERS, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, PEREZ, SPIKER, STAMPER

Resolution recognizing National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week in the City of Milwaukee.

## WHEREAS,

## NATIONAL PUBLIC SAFETY TELECOMMUNICATORS WEEK

was recognized during the week of April 13-19, 2025, honoring telecommunications personnel in the public safety community; and

WHEREAS, National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week was started in 1981 by Patricia Anderson of the Contra Costa County Sheriff's Office in California; and

**WHEREAS,** National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week is a time to appreciate and thank those who dedicate their lives to serving the public, setting time aside so everyone can be made aware of their hard work and dedication; and

**WHEREAS**, National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week celebrates those who are the lifeline to the first responders in the field, providing a watchful eye for those responding to dangerous and traumatic incidents, the skill and dedication of these telecommunicators are crucial to successful responses; and

**WHEREAS**, National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week recognizes the tireless work telecommunicators complete on a daily basis including answering calls, conducting information checks, connecting callers with support services and monitoring the safety of responders; and

**RESOLVED**, That the Common Council of Milwaukee herewith recognizes National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week in the City of Milwaukee and celebrates those in public safety telecommunications who have dedicated their lives to keeping our communities safe; and, be it

**FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the city's Department of Emergency Communications.

Introduced by Common Council members Milele A. Coggs, JoCasta Zamarripa, Peter Burgelis, Larresa Taylor, Marina Dimitrijevic, Sharlen P. Moore, Mark Chambers, Jr., Andrea M. Pratt, Lamont Westmoreland, José G. Pérez, Robert J. Bauman, Scott Spiker, and Russell W. Stamper, II, and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on April 22, 2025.