BY ALDS. BAUMAN, ZIELINSKI, BORKOWSKI, STAMPER, HAMILTON, COGGS, BOHL, WITKOWSKI, PEREZ, LEWIS, RAINEY, JOHNSON

Resolution congratulating the Nurse-Midwifery Center at Aurora Sinai Medical Center on its 30th anniversary.

WHEREAS,

NURSE-MIDWIFERY CENTER AT AURORA SINAI MEDICAL CENTER

celebrated its 30th anniversary in conjunction with the 2017 National Nurse-Midwifery Week, October 1 through October 7, 2017; and

WHEREAS, Nurse-midwives are advanced practice registered nurses who are primary health care providers to women throughout their lifespans by providing prenatal, gynecological, and labor and birth care, as well as providing health education and counseling to women of all ages; and

WHEREAS, Nurse-midwives are recognized for their exceptional contributions to the lives of women, children, and families by increasing the accessibility to quality-care for women; and

WHEREAS, The Nurse-Midwifery Center at Aurora Sinai Medical Center has been a vital and growing part of the advancement of women's health in Milwaukee by providing outstanding care to women for over 30 years; and

WHEREAS, Each year National Nurse-Midwifery Week acknowledges the important role nurse-midwives play in women's healthcare and encourages health care providers, legislators and citizens to learn more about nurse-midwifery as a health care choice; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith congratulates the Nurse-Midwifery Center at Aurora Sinai Medical Center on its 30th anniversary, and on behalf of its citizens commends the center for its vital work in increasing the accessibility to quality health care for women of all ages; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of this resolution be presented to the Nurse-Midwifery Center at Aurora Sinai Medical Center.

Introduced by Common Council members Robert Bauman, Tony Zielinski, Chantia Lewis, Cavalier Johnson, Terry L. Witkowski, Ashanti Hamilton, Mark A. Borkowski, Jim Bohl, Milele A. Coggs, José G. Pérez, Khalif J. Rainey, Chantia Lewis and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 26, 2017.