BY ALDS DIMITRIJEVIC, STAMPER, ZAMARRIPA, PRATT, SPIKER, COGGS, BORKOWSKI, RAINEY, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, PEREZ, TAYLOR

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Donovan Riley.

WHEREAS,

DONOVAN RILEY

passed from this life on August 22, 2022 at the age of 85, and his life was honored with a public mural unveiling; and

- WHEREAS, Donovan Riley had a prestigious career in medicine, having held positions as hospital and medical school administrators in cities across the country, as Vice Chancellor at UW Lacrosse and Milwaukee, and as a health care attorney in Chicago, proving his dedication to universal quality and accessibility of healthcare; and
- WHEREAS, Donovan was an important and dedicated leader in the Bay View Historical Society, where his fundraising, leadership, and legal expertise allowed them to pay off their acquisitions of historical property, and he continued to provide legal advice, archival assistance, and leadership as a member of its Board of Directors; and
- WHEREAS, Donovan was known as a devoted family man to his partner of sixteen years, Candice Owley, a nurturing father to his four adult children and step-daughter, and a loving grandfather and great-grandfather to his many grandchildren and great-grandchildren; and
- WHEREAS, Donovan will be remembered not only for the great commitment which guided his life and career but also for the great love that made him a fixture of his family and community; now, therefore, be it
- **RESOLVED,** That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family and friends of Donovan Riley, who will be remembered fondly for his endless passion in life; and, be it
- **FURTHER RESOLVED,** That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to the family of Donovan Riley.

Introduced by Common Council members Marina Dimitrijevic, Russell W. Stamper, II, JoCasta Zamarripa, Andrea M. Pratt, Scott Spiker, Milele A. Coggs, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, Jonathan Brostoff, José G. Pérez and Larresa Taylor and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 1, 2023.