BY ALDS CHAMBERS, PRATT, PEREZ, JACKSON, BAUMAN, COGGS, WESTMORELAND, ZAMARRIPA, MOORE, SPIKER, STAMPER, BROWER

Resolution expressing condolences for the family and friends of Rev. Dr. Trinette Vernell McCray.

WHEREAS,

REV. DR. TRINETTE VERNELL MCCRAY

passed from this life on May 29, 2025 at the age of 71 and services were held for family and friends on June 14, 2025 at Pilgrim Rest MBC, 3456 N. 38th Street; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Trinette Vernell McCray, a Milwaukee native, was a trailblazing minister, educator, and advocate whose life was marked by faith, service, and justice; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Trinette Vernell McCray earned her B.A. from UW-Oshkosh and a Master's in Religious Education from the Morehouse School of Religion, where she was ordained in 1981, and would go on to receive a Doctor of Ministry from Northern Baptist Theological Seminary and an honorary Doctor of Divinity in 2021; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Trinette Vernell McCray made history as the first clergywoman President of American Baptist Churches USA (2000-2001), and served in numerous national and local leadership roles, with her ministry extending to education, social justice, and public theology through her work at Cardinal Stritch University and the Urban Center-Milwaukee; and

WHEREAS, Rev. Dr. Trinette Vernell McCray was also an author, vocalist, and spiritual leader who was a proud member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, and a cherished aunt, godmother, and mentor to many; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family members and friends of Rev. Dr. Trinette Vernell McCray, and mourns the passing of this dedicated community member and upstanding woman; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to the family of Rev. Dr. Trinette Vernell McCray.

Introduced by Common Council members Mark Chambers, Jr., José G. Pérez, Andrea M. Pratt, DiAndre Jackson, Robert Bauman, Milele A. Coggs, Lamont Westmoreland, JoCasta Zamarripa, Sharlen P. Moore, Scott Spiker, Alex Brower and Russell W. Stamper, II and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on June 24, 2025.