BY ALDS PRATT, STAMPER, ZAMARRIPA, SPIKER, COGGS, BORKOWSKI, RAINEY, CHAMBERS, BROSTOFF, BAUMAN, WESTMORELAND, TAYLOR, PEREZ

Resolution expressing condolences to the family and friends of Denise Sherrill Anderson.

WHEREAS,

DENISE SHERRILL ANDERSON

passed from this life on August 5, 2023 at the age of 64 and services were held in her memory at on August 14, 2023; and

WHEREAS, Denise Sherrill Anderson was born on September 23, 1958 to William and Peggy Sherrill and was the seventh of eight Sherrill children who grew up in the middle of the block at 1717 West Brown Street; and

WHEREAS, Denise Sherrill Anderson graduated from Rufus King High School in 1974 and then earned a bachelor's degree in social work from the University of Wisconsin-Oshkosh in 1978, when she then returned to Milwaukee and was hired by the City of Milwaukee as an environmental health specialist, and would worked in a wide variety of jobs before landing the lead risk assessor III position at the Milwaukee Health Department before retiring on April 1, 2016; and

WHEREAS, Denise Sherrill Anderson was known as a devoted wife to her spouse of 37 years, Bill Anderson, a nurturing mother to her son Jarvis, and a loving family woman to her many siblings; and

WHEREAS, Maggie will be remembered not only for the great joy and strong bonds she shared with many but also the inspiration and strength with which she lived her life; now, therefore, be it

RESOLVED, That the Common Council of the City of Milwaukee herewith offers its sincere condolences to the family and friends of Denise Sherrill Anderson, who will be remembered fondly for the selfless commitment she so often shared with others; and, be it

FURTHER RESOLVED, That a suitably engrossed copy of the resolution be presented to the family of Denise Sherrill Anderson.

Introduced by Common Council members Andrea M. Pratt, Russell W. Stamper, II, JoCasta Zamarripa, Scott Spiker, Milele A. Coggs, Mark A. Borkowski, Khalif J. Rainey, Mark Chambers, Jr., Jonathan Brostoff, Robert J. Bauman, Lamont Westmoreland, Larresa Taylor, and José G. Pérez and approved by all members of the Milwaukee Common Council on September 1, 2023.